2020 Applications are now being accepted.


The goal of the competition is to give bands looking to make the jump from a local or regional band to one of national recognition. It gives groups an opportunity to present to a wider audience and establish themselves as a band to be “watched and heard.” We believe that the winning band will be able to use the title of “Winner Podunk Band Competition” as a marketing tool.

The judges will spend ten minutes with each band at the conclusion of the competition to discuss strengths, weaknesses and areas needing improvement in a frank but supporting manner. We will accept only 4 bands to compete in the competition.  Bands will be given an opportunity to perform twice.  First as part of the competition, and then on the same day an open set of the bands choice.

All bands will receive a $400 cash prize.  In addition to prize money, the Champion band will receive a pair of Telefunken M60 FET acoustic instrument microphones (or similar) valued at $1,200 and a spot on the Main Stage on Friday or Saturday at next year’s Podunk Bluegrass Festival.



Congratulations to the Plate Scrapers

winner of the 2019 Telefunken Band Competition

and also to Grain Thief, winner of the Fan Favorite award.


The Plate Scrapers

The Plate Scrapers originated in Western Maryland and are a four piece string band performing traditional bluegrass and old time tunes topped off with a helping or their own original material.  The bands wide taste in music, ability to jam and impeccable instrumentation will keep you coming back for seconds.



Grain Thief

From the Boston, Mass area, it’s members bring a diverse musical background including training in classical violin and switch to old-time fiddle, a saxophonist who joined the band to play mandolin and even a member who played electric bass in a heavy metal band with a transformation to upright bass.  After working on some acoustic arrangements to prepare for a one-off show the band started showcasing acoustic roots music in folk, bluegrass and old time music.  After adding additional members this five piece band never looked back.



To find the winners from previous years – Click Here!